Commemorative Lagarto-HOG Pin

Frank DeVere Latta, captain of  USS Lagarto (SS 371), had a passion for motorcycles.  So much so that he would bring his bike with him on his patrols during World War II,  even though it was against Navy policy. According to his son Mike, Latta would disassemble his Harley-Davidson and stow it on board the submarine. Whenever Lagarto made port for shore leave or supplies, Latta and a crewman would reassemble the bike and Latta would take off down the dock.

On May 3, 1945, Lagarto was sunk by the Japanese minelayer Hatsutaka.  For 60 years, Lagarto’s final resting place was unknown.  In May 2005, divers found the remains of Lagarto, intact and sitting upright at a depth of 200 feet in the Gulf of Thailand. If, as believed, the Harley-Davidson was aboard when Lagarto went down with Latta and her crew, the bike is certainly still there. Latta’s bike is thought to be a late 1942 EL or CL civilian model.


Shipbuilding has long been a predominant industry in Manitowoc; in the middle of the 19th century the banks of the Manitowoc River were lined with boat yards. By 1940 there were only two left: Burger Boat Company and Manitowoc Shipbuilding Company. It was then that the Navy Department contacted the Manitowoc Shipbuilding Company and asked them to build submarines.

Celebrate the 28 Manitowoc-built submarines with this unique collectors pin.


Cobia Pin


Cobia Insignia Pin

The creation of battle insignia is a long standing tradition of the American armed forces. In 1940, Walt Disney studios in California began designing insignia using animal caricatures. Eighteen Manitowoc submarines are Disney designs. The battle insignia were thought to be a good omen and the insignia is placed on letterheads, worn on backs of jackets, and were painted on conning towers when submarines were not on patrol.

 Many of the submarines were named after the “denizens of the deep,” with fierce names and fierce insignia. Their patches depicted fierce fighting fish, mermaids ridding or holding a torpedo, or exploding torpedoes and Japanese flags.  The designs were meant to send a “don’t mess with us” warning to the enemy. The tougher the creatures looked, the more the submariners liked them.


Museum Logo Pin

Founded in 1970 as the Manitowoc Submarine Memorial Association, the Wisconsin Maritime Museum has grown into one of the largest maritime museums in the Midwest. In addition to commemorating the maritime heritage of the Manitowoc-Two Rivers area and the submarines built here during World War II, the Wisconsin Maritime Museum is now a leader in preserving the maritime history of Wisconsin and the Great Lakes region.

With over 60,000 square feet of space, the Wisconsin Maritime Museum explores the rich maritime history of Wisconsin through exciting and interactive exhibits: A unique collection of model ships and boats, an operating steam engine, displays of historic vessels and marine engines, and the Wisconsin Waterways and Little Lakefarer's Rooms – special places for children of all ages to learn and play.